Merging software items

Some software items may represent different versions of the same software. Having duplicate records for the same entity is not always convenient or desirable. For example, you can only link a license to a single software item, whereas in reality, the license may cover all versions of the software. In most cases, a publisher will provide enough software information for different versions to be recognized as a single software item across different installations. Merging is a tool designed to handle other situations.

Select all versions of the software in the main list. Use search and filters to find them faster. To select multiple items, drag your mouse or use Shift-click and Ctrl-click. Then open the context menu and select the Merge selected software option.

To initially merge versions that should continue to be treated as a single software item, for example, if they are covered by a single license, you can use the automatic merge mechanism in the group editor.
To do this, select the Edit software properties from the context menu for the software item that you want to merge into a group in the main list, or open the editor by double-clicking the desired software item. Then check the Automatically add other versions of selected software box and click Save. The program will automatically detect suitable software items and suggest them for merging.

After confirming the merge with the Automatically add other versions of selected software setting enabled, new matching software items will be automatically merged into the group. You can receive notifications about these changes in the Application Events log by enabling the corresponding option in the program Settings in the Logs section.

If several copies of the same software item are installed on a device, selecting the As one copy per computer option allows TNI to count it as a single copy for licensing purposes. The option should be used if the software and its add-ons are combined into one group, or if the software is installed separately for multiple users on the same device.

If necessary, enter the title and select the publisher from the drop-down list, check the list of versions again, select the confirmation checkbox, and click the Merge button. This is how merged software is displayed in the main list:

Attention!

This feature is NOT a replacement for groups. Do not merge software based on type, purpose, publisher, etc. You can use tags in these cases. Only use merging to combine different versions of the same software into a single item.

You cannot merge software items associated with different operating systems. The operating system associated with the selected application is indicated by an icon in the Details panel.

You can later add new items to the merged item in the same way by selecting the items in the main window and clicking Merge selected software in the context menu.

To remove an item, switch to the Merged tab and click the  icon next to the item you want to remove.

Click Unmerge to undo the merge.

Contents