Creating a license

The easiest way to create a license is to use the corresponding button in the upper-left corner.

A window will appear:

Name the license and use the search field or the list to find the software item to which you want to attach the license, then click Select next to its title. In some cases, the software will be selected automatically.

Fill in the license properties. The most important ones are the Keys are mandatory/optional setting and the number of activations.

When Keys are mandatory is selected, the number of copies that a single key activates needs to be specified. The most common scenarios are:

  • Several keys, each activating one installation;
  • One key activating several installations (a.k.a. Volume License Key, VLK).

However, you’re free to create a license with several volume keys or just one single-activation key. Any combination will work.

In this mode, a software installation is considered non-compliant if it is not assigned a valid key that belongs to its license.

Copy the license keys into the License keys field, placing each key on a separate line. You will be able to add or remove keys later, either by editing this list or by managing key entities directly.

When Keys are optional is selected, you need to specify the total number of activations allowed by the license. License keys will be ignored. A software installation is considered non-compliant if the activation limit of the license is exceeded.

 In either mode, click the Activations field to see the ∞ (infinity) button. Setting the activation number to infinity, a license with unlimited capacity is created.

In any mode, set the number of activations to 0 to create a pirate license. Use these licenses to track unwanted installations. You can also store known pirate license keys in them.

You can assign several different licenses to a single software item.

If the Don’t warn about license expiration option is enabled, an expiring or expired license (if the corresponding field is filled in) will be displayed in the list of licenses with the Complaint status and will not be marked with a yellow or red notification as problematic.
For example, the option can be useful for licenses for software products that have been purchased, but after a certain period whose functionality becomes partially unavailable (such as updates or technical support) and making renewal desirable. However, the software can still be used after the license expires.

Adding a license key

You can bind keys to a license by copying them into the edit form, which opens when you click the Add key button in the upper-right corner of the “Create license” / “Change license” forms

When you click the additional menu of the Add key button, you can choose to add either a single key or multiple keys. Clicking the Add key button directly opens the license key field, allowing you to enter or edit the key immediately.

You can quickly edit a key by double-clicking it.

Hover over the key field to see the full contents of multi-line or long keys that are partially hidden.

If you select Add multiple keys, an additional window will appear.

Copy the keys into the field, placing each key on a separate line. Alternatively, specify one or more separator characters to separate the keys. This can be useful when copying keys from text files.

Using the additional information panel, you can also add or remove keys, edit the list of keys, or assign keys to other licenses.

You can also add new licenses from the Details panel in the Software accounting mode and from the Details panel of the Unattached keys mode.

Deleting a license key

To delete a license key, open the license properties by selecting a license from the list and choosing the appropriate item from the context menu, or by double-clicking the license. You can also open the license properties from the additional information panel by clicking the icon. Then select the required key and remove it using the options menu next to the license key. The key will be marked for deletion with a crossed-out key icon. If you selected the key by mistake, simply cancel the operation.

After the changes are made and the settings are saved, the key will be permanently deleted and cannot be restored.

Contents