Logins

login in TSD is a set consisting of a username and a password, which are used to access remote assets during scanning.

When creating the Network storage or opening one that doesn't have default logins set, TSD offers to set the default username and password.

Each Network storage contains its own sets of logins for different protocols. TSD only works with the Windows protocol.

Login editor

The Login editor window consists of 2 sections:

  1. Management of Storage logins;
  2. Assignment of logins to network nodes.

Management of Storage logins

By default, there's only one standard login in this set:

  • Current user: login of the Windows user running TSD.

The standard login cannot be changed or deleted.

To create a new login, click the Add button below the list.

When adding a new login, an alias should also be specified along with the username and password. An alias is a unique identifier that will be used when working with a particular login in TSD. Aliases enable adding logins with the same usernames.

The added login is displayed in the list.

To edit a username or password, click on its field in the list. To change an alias, double-click it.

You can specify the default login by clicking the option button to the left of it. This login will be used when scanning assets for which no logins have been specified explicitly.

When changes are made in this section, two buttons appear in its header: Undo and Apply changes.

  • Clicking Undo cancels the unsaved changes.
  • Clicking Apply changes saves the changes into the Storage.

Logins can be added and edited in the Scanner mode right before scanning. For details, see the Managing added tasks section.

Assigning logins to network nodes

If the network node should be always scanned with the same login, that login can be assigned to it.

To assign one of the logins to the asset, click the small chain icon to the left of the alias. The linked chain icon and blue highlighting indicate that this login is assigned to the selected asset.

Any login can be assigned to several network nodes at once. To do this, select the nodes or their group in the Network tree and select the assigned login in the list.

When changes are made in this section, two buttons appear in its header: Undo and Apply changes.

  • Clicking Undo cancels the unsaved changes.
  • Clicking Apply changes saves the changes into the Storage.

Changes made to the Default Windows login section will only be reflected in the Windows login for selected assets section when these changes are applied.

When remote assets are scanned for the first time, logins that successfully provided access are automatically assigned to them.